基金与基金管理人

Funding Management 720X242

在过去的二十年里,马耳他将自身发展为一个具有创造力和值得信赖的金融服务中心,有众多的金融服务企业和机构。在2013年和2014年马耳他被《对冲基金评论》(服务提供商排名)评为欧洲最受青睐基金注册地。 马耳他基金和基金管理人在一个繁荣的环境中运营,有极受欢迎的专业投资者基金(PIF),也有刚刚开始的另类投资基金(AIF)。马耳他的立法也为设立可转让证券集合投资计划(UCITS)和非可转让证券集合投资计划零售基金提供法律支持。基金与基金管理人相关事宜受《投资服务法》的监管。


我们的基金与基金管理人业务团队指导个人设立基金和在取得许可证之后继续持有该基金提供协助。我们在基金与基金管理人领域有着丰富的经验,提供深入的咨询意见和许多辅助服务,以满足客户的需求。


基金与基金管理人:专业投资者基金(PIFs)


专业投资者基金是为专业人员和高净产个人设计的集合投资计划。专业投资者基金并不是面向公众,仅仅向有专长、经验和知识的人士提供以及对于决定投资且知晓其中风险的人士,在一定程度上法律允许他们投资。


马耳他许多基金都是专业投资者基金(PIFs)。专业投资者基金如此受欢迎的原因是专业或者富裕人士可以自己管理基金,而没有零售基金的各种限制。除了出售给经验资深的投资人的专业投资者基金有一定限制之外,没有限制。专业投资者基金得益于快速通道许可,如果所有的证件合格,两到三个月之内便能获得批准;低的准入水平是,对于经验资深的投资人来说,10000欧的最低投资金额;另一个事实是专业投资者基金是符合伊斯兰教法的产品,因而任何专业的投资人都可以投资专业投资者基金。


专业投资者基金通常情况下采用的是可变股本投资公司(SICAVs)的开放式的公开或者私人投资有限责任公司的形式,还有采用固定股本投资公司的形式,公开有限责任公司、有限合伙公司或者单位信托公司和分级基金或者伞型基金。鉴于在过去几年里马耳他专业投资者基金取得的成功,可以预见到专业投资者基金将继续成为欧盟或者非欧盟另类基金管理人的热门选择。


目前,法律上有三种专业投资者基金:


面向资深投资者的专业投资者基金(或者称为资深投资者基金)——面向有相关工作经验且最低投资金额为10000欧的的投资人;
面向合格的投资者的专业投资者基金(或者称为合格投资者基金)——最低投资金额为75000欧;
面向特殊投资者的专业投资者基金(或者称为特殊投资者基金)——最低投资金额为750000欧。


基金与基金管理人:另类投资基金(AIFs)和另类投资基金管理人(AIFMs


另类投资基金是通过不同法律形式设立的集合投资计划的特殊类别,每一种都有适合不同需求的特点。马耳他另类投资基金设立为:

 

  • 有限合伙公司;
  • 单位信托公司,经过管理公司和受托人订立信托契约成立的单位信托公司;
  • 共同基金;
  • 可变股本投资公司(SICAV)和固定股本投资公司(INVCO),前者最受欢迎。


另类投资基金(AIFs)受《欧盟另类投资基金管理人指令》的统一监管。该指令授予依据该指令成立的另类投资基金管理人通行权,向所有欧盟成员国的专业投资者销售他们的另类投资基金中的单位或者股份,无需在当地另行注册。该指令统一监管欧盟境内另类投资基金管理人和另类基金的推广。这是为什么对马耳他来说特别的重要,因为自从马耳他在加入欧盟之后,另类投资基金在马耳他不断增长。


另类投资基金被定义为依据明确的投资策略从众多投资者中集资的集合投资计划,并且根据《可转让证券集合投资计划指令》的规定无需许可。


自2016年2月11日起,启动了一项新的另类投资基金——公告另类投资基金。公告另类投资基金无需马耳他金融服务局另行授予许可和持续的监督。马耳他金融服务局将其官网上提供声誉良好的公告另类投资基金的一览表。


基金与基金管理人:马耳他可转让证券集合投资计划基金


可转让证券集合投资计划是零售基金产品,统一在欧盟发行,以及从某一成员国获得单一授权即可在欧盟境内运营,所以要遵循特定的公告程序。


如果该基金符合下列情况,则为合格的可转让证券集合投资计划:

  1. 投入在可转让证券和/或者其他流动性金融资产的集合投资的唯一目标,依据风险分散原则营运从公众募集的资本。
  2. 单位,应持有人的要求,可以从计划的资产中直接或者间接地回购或者赎回。

可转让证券集合投资计划可以通过不同的法律形式设立,每一种都有适合不同需求的特点。事实上,马耳他可转让证券及和投资计划可以设立为下列形式:

  • 有限合伙,其资本划分为股份;
  • 单位信托公司——经过管理公司和受托人订立信托契约成立的单位信托公司;
  • 普通契约型基金;
  • 可变股本投资公司(SICAV)。


关于可转让证券集合投资计划中的基金和基金管理人,基金管理人并不是必须的,因为基金可以是自我管理的或者由马耳他金融服务局的授权的公司管理,而且他们的金融资源与流动性必须符合自由处理的要求。基金管理人必须证明有足够的相关经验,以及所有的活动、责任和经验都必须在基金招股说明书里阐述。


如果自我管理的项目是采用公司的形式,初缴股本不得少于300000欧,但是如果是由第三方管理人管理,12500欧的资本即可设立。


我们的基金与基金管理人业务团队


我们的基金与基金管理人业务团队专注于基金的构建与设立以及获得许可证之后的咨询服务。我们协助客户起草相关文件,包括招募备忘录和相关协议。我们提供“一体化”服务,从联络客户到马耳他高素质人才和服务提供者,通常是作为项目各个方面的主要参考点。我们的事务所在处理基金与基金管理人方面的事宜拥有资深的经验,特别重视依非传统的投资策略或者非传统的结构成立的基金。我们的基金与基金管理人业务团队由律师与专业人士组成,非常务实,给予建设性咨询意见而不墨守成规,但是以申请人的实用和现实需求为中心。

 



Contact Us
Please send me legal and other updates
关键联系人

Dr Maria Chetcuti Cauchi

Senior Partner, Property & Projects

+356 22056875

相关产业团体

Funds and Fund Managers

Ccmalta Default

Over the last two decades, Malta has established itself as an innovative and reliable financial services centre, hosting a variety of financial services businesses and structures. Dubbed as Europe’s favoured fund domicile in Hedge Fund Review's 2013 and 2014 (Service Provider Rankings), Malta funds and fund managers are operating in a flourishing environment which has retained its popular Professional Investors Fund (PIF) regime, and introduced a newer regime for Alternative Investment Funds (AIFs). Maltese legislation also provides for the setting up of Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities (UCISTs) as well as non-UCITS retail funds. Matters related to Funds and Fund Managers are regulated by the Investment Services Act.

Our Funds and Fund Managers team may serve an instrumental role for individuals who want to set up a fund and who need assistance in the upkeep of such fund post-licensing stage. We have a wealth of experience in the sector of funds and fund managers, providing in-depth advice and an array of ancillery services to cater for all our clients' needs.

Funds and Fund Managers: Professional Investors Funds (PIFs)

PIFs are collective investment schemes designed for professional and high net worth individuals. While they cannot be offered to the public at large, only to persons having expertise, experience and knowledge and who are in a position to make their own investment decisions and understand the risks involved, the law allows for a degree of flexibility in their regard.

A staggering majority of funds in Malta are Professional Investor Funds (PIFs). What makes a PIF such a popular investment scheme is that they serve as a flexible vehicle which allows professional or wealthy investors to self-manage their fund without the restrictions usually imposed on retail funds. There are no investment restrictions apart from those on PIFs sold to experienced investors which are subject to certain restrictions. PIFs benefit from fast-track licensing, with approval being granted within two to three months if all documents are in order, the low entry levels, with €10,000 being the minimum investment threshold for experienced investors, and the fact that PIFs are Sharia-compliant, making PIFs accessible to any type of serious investor.

A PIF typically takes the form of open-ended public or private limited liability investment companies with variable share capital (SICAVs), but also take the form of an INVCO, public limited liability company, limited partnership or a unit trust and may be constituted as a multiclass fund or an umbrella fund. In view of the island’s successful PIF regime in the past years, one may predict that PIFs will continue to be a popular choice for both EU and non-EU alternative fund managers.

Currently, the law provides for a threefold classification of PIFs:

  • PIFs promoted to Experienced Investors (or Experienced Investor Funds) – granted to those who have relevant work experience with a minimum investment threshold of €10,000
  • PIFs promoted to Qualifying Investors (or Qualifying Investor Funds) – granted with a minimum investment threshold of €75,000
  • PIFs promoted to Extraordinary Investors (or Extraordinary Investor Funds) – granted with a minimum investment threshold of €750,000

Funds and Fund Managers: Alternative Investment Funds (AIFs) and Managers (AIFMs)

AIFs are a special class of collective investment schemes which are established using a variety of legal forms, each having characteristics suited for particular needs. A Maltese AIF may be set up as:

  • A limited partnership or partnership en commandite;
  • A unit trust, constituted by a trust deed between a management company and a trustee;
  • A mutual fund;
  • An investment company with variable share capital (“SICAV”); An investment company with fixed share capital (“INVCO”), the former being the most popular.

Alternative Investment Funds (AIFs) fall within the remit of the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive (AIFMD). The AIFMD creates a passport for EU AIFMs authorised under the directive to market units or shares in their EU AIFs to professional investors in all EU Member States without needing to comply with any further local requirements. The AIFMD regulates both alternative fund managers and the promotion of alternative funds within the EU. This is why it is of particular importance to Malta, as it continued to encourage the significant growth in the alternative investment fund business which Malta has experienced since EU accession.

AIFs are defined as collective investment undertakings which raise capital from a number of investors with a view of investing therein in accordance with a defined investment strategy, and which do not require authorisation under the UCITS Directive.

As of 11 February 2016, a new fund regime was launched for Alternative Investment Funds – the Notified AIF. The Notified AIF will not require licensing by the Malta FSA and will not be subject to ongoing supervision. A list of Notified AIFs in good standing will be available on the Malta FSA’s website. 

Funds and Fund Managers: Malta UCITS Funds

Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities (UCITS) are retail fund products which are harmonised throughout  Europe and can operate throughout the EU on the basis of a single authorisation from one member state, provided that it follows certain notification procedures.

A UCIT qualifies as such if the fund has:

  1. As its only object the collective investment in transferable securities and/or in other liquid financial assets, of capital raised from the public which operate on the principle of risk-spreading;
  2. Units which, at the request of holders, may be repurchased or redeemed directly or indirectly, out of those undertakings’ assets.

UCITS can be established using a variety of legal forms, each having characteristics suited for particular needs. In fact a Maltese UCITS may be set up as:

  • A limited partnership whose capital is divided into shares
  • A unit trust – constituted by a trust deed between a management company and a trustee.
  • A common contractual fund
  • An investment company with variable share capital (SICAV)

With regards to Funds and Fund Managers in UCITS, a Fund Manager may be optional as funds may be either self-managed or managed by a company approved by the MFSA, and they must have satisfactory financial resources and liquidity at disposal. Fund Managers have to demonstrate sufficient and relevant experience and all roles, responsibilities and experience must be described in the fund prospectus.

In the case of a self-managed scheme which takes the form of a company, the initial paid up share capital should not be less than €300,000, but if it is managed by a third party manager, it may be set up with a capital of €125,00.

Our Funds and Fund Managers Team

Our Funds and Fund Managers team focuses on the structuring and setting-up of funds and the provision of on-going advisory at post-licensing stage. We assist our clients with the drafting of all regulatory documents, including offering memoranda and ancillary agreements. We provide an ‘all-in-one’ service, connecting clients to high quality personnel and service providers in the jurisdiction and generally act as a primary reference point for all aspects of the project. Our firm has an abundance of experience in matters dealing with funds and fund managers and pays particular focus to the creation of funds which follow unorthodox investment strategies or which use unconventional structures. Our dedicated team of Funds and Fund Managers lawyers and professionals is a practical one, giving constructive advice which is not too legalistic, but which centers around the practical, real-world needs of the applicant.

 



Contact Us
Related Practice Groups